ENGIE Group and Electrabel

The company Electrabel is part of the ENGIE Group, which is working on the transition to a carbon-neutral world in 20 countries worldwide. Meet the members of the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors is the company’s highest decision-making body, except for matters reserved by law or the articles of association for shareholders.

The day-to-day management and representation  of the company are in the hands of the Managing Director, who is elected by the Board. Since May 1, 2021, this is Thierry Saegeman.

The Management assists him in the operational management, within the framework of the organizational principles described in the Corporate Governance Charter.

The company’s statutory auditor certifies Electrabel s.a. annual accounts. The Ordinary General Meeting of April 25, 2017 has decided to fix the annual remuneration of the auditor at a total amount of €1 069 000. His term of office ends at the close of the 2023 Ordinary General Meeting.

Board of directors

Card image

Johnny Thijs

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Since October 2019, Johnny Thijs has been chairman of the Board of Directors for Electrabel nv. He is also chairman of the Board of Directors for Recticel, Corealis, Golazo and Hospital Logistics and a board member for H. Essers. He is also an adviser for CVC and Lazard Benelux. He holds a degree in commercial engineering from the University of Hasselt.

Card image

Thierry Saegeman

CEO of Electrabel

Thierry Saegeman started his career at Electrabel in 1995, where he held various positions in onshore and offshore wind project development, maintenance and conventional and hydro generation in France. In October 2016, he was named head of the nuclear power generation activities in Belgium, after which he was appointed CEO of the BU Nuclear in 2020. As of 1 May 2021, Thierry Saegeman is CEO of Electrabel SA.

Card image

Philippe Van Troeye


Philippe Van Troeye joined Electrabel in 1988 and held several positions in the generation department, before being appointed General Manager of the generation activities in Belgium and Luxembourg in 2006. From 2016 to 2021 he was CEO of Electrabel SA. As from May 1st 2021, Philippe van Troeye is appointed CEO of Tractebel. He continues to sit on the Board of Directors of Electrabel SA.

Card image

Judith Hartmann

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE Group

Judith Hartmann has been Executive Vice President of ENGIE since 2015. She has also been in charge of CSR since 2019 and oversees Finance and Procurement.

Card image

Paulo Almirante

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE Group

Paulo Almirante has been Executive Vice President of ENGIE since 2016. Since 2021 he is in charge of ENGIE’s activities in renewables. He also supervises the Business Units Nuclear and Global Energy Management.

Card image

Sébastien Arbola

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE Group

Sébastien Arbola has been Executive Vice President in charge of Thermal Generation and Energy Supply activities since 2021. He supervises the Global Business Line Thermal and the Business Units Generation Europe, France BtoC and Hydrogen.

Card image

Cédric Osterrieth

CEO Business Unit Generation Europe

Cedric Osterrieth has over 24 years of professional experience in the energy sector, where he has worked in electricity, oil and gas. He has been CEO of the BU Generation Europe since 2018.

Card image

Etienne Denoël

Externe Bestuurder van Electrabel

Etienne Denoël is Emeritus-director of the McKinsey consultancy, where he worked from 1987 to 2018 as an adviser to private businesses and government bodies. He led various missions in the energy, industrial and service sector in Europe and North America. In 2000, he founded the McKinsey Solutions, Research and Knowledge Center in Belgium (Louvain-la-Neuve).

Card image

Patrick van der Beken

Secretary for ENGIE's Board of Directors

Patrick Van der Beken has been active within the Group for 24 years. Since 2008, he has been secretary for ENGIE's Board of Directors.


Corporate Governance Charter

pdf, 270.41 KB

Gecoördineerde statuten

pdf, 325.36 KB